About the Climate Leadership Awards

The Climate Leadership Awards is a national awards program that recognizes and incentivizes exemplary corporate, organizational, and individual leadership in response to climate change. The winners are leading the way in managing and reducing greenhouse gas emissions in their operations and supply chains. 

Eligibility for 2023 Awards

Applicants for all categories of the Climate Leadership Awards program must meet the following criteria as well as any additional eligibility requirements specified within each category.

  1. Applicants must have significant operations in the United States. Given the global nature of climate change, the majority of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions reductions do not have to occur in the United States.
  2. Leadership activities must have taken place between January 1, 2020, and December 31, 2021. However, applications may also refer to actions that commenced before that time and continued into the application period and the length of time an action has been in practice, or which explains how that prior activity served as a foundation for ongoing and more current activities.
  3. Applications and applicants may be reviewed and evaluated for environmental, civil rights, and/or financial improprieties. An application may be denied if the applicant/organization is found to be in serious violation of environmental regulations, civil rights, or financial impropriety by the CLA Steering Committee. Where areas of concern are identified, additional follow up may be conducted.

Application Process

The application period will close on January 31, 2023. Application forms are available on the corresponding category web pages for each category. Applicants are required to submit their application online via the CLA SmarterSelect portal. Please complete the form specific to the awards category to which you are applying and submit it with the required supplemental information online.

Applicants are requested to review the step-by-step instructions on the category pages linked to below.

Any questions can be sent to

Completed reference forms for the Individual Leadership and Organizational Leadership categories should be submitted by the applicant along with their application form in the SmarterSelect Application Portal.

2023 Award Categories

Organizational Leadership AwardRecognizes organizations that not only have their own comprehensive greenhouse gas inventories and aggressive emissions reduction goals, but also exemplify extraordinary leadership in their internal response to climate change, and engagement of their peers, partners, and supply chain.

Individual Leadership Award: Recognizes individuals exemplifying extraordinary leadership both in addressing climate change and engaging their organization, peers, and partners.

Innovative Partnership CertificateRecognizes organizations working collaboratively on leading edge climate initiatives that are above and beyond business as usual. Partnerships that are candidates for recognition should be comprised primarily of stakeholder institutions from government, academia and/or the private sector that have collectively established objectives to measurably address greenhouse gas reduction goals and/or adaptation and resilience activities.

More information will be available soon in the Awards FAQ.

If you have questions about the awards or would like more information, please email

Celebrating the Best of the Best in the U.S.

Since 2012, the Climate Leadership Awards have honored more than 185 companies, organizations and individuals from diverse sectors across the U.S. The winners have demonstrated outstanding leadership in managing and reducing greenhouse gas emissions in their operations and supply chains, as well as integrating climate resilience initiatives.